About Us

History

A Veteran-Owned Business

Penfield Sport and Fitness is the only privately owned health club in the Rochester area. Established in 1978 by its present owner, Alan Hanford, the Club celebrated 35 years in business in 2013!

The Club was originally named Penfield Racquet Club, and contained eight racquetball courts, men’s and women’s locker rooms, a nursery and lounge. As interest began to shift from racquetball to fitness, the Club began to change.

In 1981 a Nautilus circuit was added, as well as a whirlpool. 1983 saw the addition of the aerobic studio, an expanded childcare center, and a second Nautilus circuit. The Total Club concept was introduced. Five years later, in 1988, the Fitness Center addition was completed, adding 2,200 square feet of dedicated space for free weights and cardio equipment.

Major interior design improvements were completed in 1992, and in 1994 the cardio mezzanine added 1,500 square feet for cardio workouts, and introduced the option of watching television or listening to music while working out.

Alan had had the foresight to purchase the building next to the Club in 1985. When he decided to add a swimming pool in 1996, that building was demolished in order to provide expanded parking. The 20 yard pool is maintained at 88 degrees and is used for swimming lessons, water aerobic classes, arthritis classes and lap swimming.

A gymnasium was added in 2001, providing the option of basketball and pickleball, as well a venue for additional fitness classes. In all, over these years, the Club grew from its original 15,000 square feet to just under 40,000 square feet!

Renovations in 2005 – 2007 included a new group cycling area, a larger Women’s Only room, upgraded locker rooms and redesigned lounge. Once again in 2013, new flooring, furniture, and equipment helped us celebrate 35 years!

The new name, Penfield Sport and Fitness, reflects the evolution of the Club in light of changes in the fitness industry. We are proud of our facility and of our staff, many of whom have worked here for more than 20 years, several more than 25 years, and two more than 30 years! Our members are the best – loyal, dedicated to improving their health and fitness, and eager to learn new ways to achieve their goals.

Our Staff

Don’t see who you are looking for below? Please visit our contact page to get in touch.

Alan Hanford, Owner: hanford@rochester.rr.com
Chris Hanford, Assistant Manager: chrish@penfieldfitness.com
Noreen Bisaillon, Miss Mary’s Child Care Director: noreen@penfieldfitness.com
Shana Hawkins, Membership Accounts Manager: shana@penfieldfitness.com

Cassie Curry, Group Exercise Director: cassie@penfieldfitness.com
Gail Buckner, Pool/Program Director, Special Programs, Parties & Rentals: gail@penfieldfitness.com
Diane Kaltenbach, Front Desk Manager: diane@penfieldfitness.com
Jenna Breen, Fitness Director: jenna@penfieldfitness.com

Our Amenities

Complimentary Workout

Complimentary Workout Lead-In

Full access to Strength Training Equipment, Cardio Machines, Racquetball, Heated Lap Pool, and all Group Fitness Classes, plus much more!